I’ve been tagged!

LouisianaPatriette of Formidable Courage has tagged me!  Below are her questions and my answers.

Seven Personal Queries

Describe yourself in one sentence.

I am first a servant and daughter to my Heavenly Father — I am also a proud Texan, a lover of all things tiny and detailed, a musician, a big sister, a cat lover,  a crafter, an avid reader and book collector, a Ron Paul supporter, a backyard chicken enthusiast, a Revolutionary War buff, a member of The Bluestocking Society, and a bosom friend to a couple of wonderful girls.  🙂

Your duties met for the day, how would you choose to spend a carefree summer afternoon?

I would spend the afternoon creating something and reading, then spend the evening at an English Country dance.

Are you compulsively clean or comfortably messy?

I keep things comfortably messy until it starts bothering me, then I start cleaning.  🙂

Chocolate or vanilla?

I’ll usually go for chocolate.

Do you have a special little weakness…that you just can’t live without, and that gives you much happiness when obtained?

Not that I can think of…

Who is your favorite singer?

Just one?!?  Agh… can I go with a group? (*presumes she can*)  I would have to say Rescue.  They are an Christian acapella group out of Portland Organ.  Rescue is  the best acapella group I have ever heard.  Hands down.  You can listen to samples of their music here: Rescue music samples.  My favorites are Beautiful, Before the Throne of God Above, and Darkest Hour.

What are your opinions on the subject of poetry?

I did not have much of an appreciation for poetry until two years ago.  I took a British Literature class and much of what we studied was poetry.  We read, studied, picked apart, and even wrote some poems that year.  That class developed my appreciation of poetry.  Maybe one day I will post one of my attempts…

Seven Queries on the Subject of Books and Movies

Name three favorite fiction books, and three favorite nonfiction books.

Fiction:

      • The Pathfinder – James Fennimore Cooper
      • The Chronicles of Narnia ~ C.S. Lewis
      • The Keeper of the Bees ~ Gene Stratton-Porter

Nonfiction

      • Rocket Boys (aka October Sky) – Homer Hickam Jr. *
      • Operation Mincemeat: How a Dead man and a Bizarre Plan Fooled the Nazis and Assured an Allied Victory – Ben Macintyre
      • The Great Escape – Paul Brickhill*

*FYI, my wonderful Daddy went through and edited the books marked with an asterisk before I read them.  Really good books but… there were some things that didn’t need to be there.

What’s the next book on your to-read list?

Most likely Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung

Name the worst book you’ve ever read, and the worst movie you’ve ever seen.

No particular book is coming to mind — usually if a book is just awful, I won’t finish reading it.

One of the worse movies I watched was Rio.  That was a total waste of time.

Name your top five favorite characters EVER (book or movie).

Don’t know if these are my top five favorites, but they are some of my favorite characters nonetheless.  So, in no particular order:

    • Randel Everett Baltimore (The Reb and the Redcoats)
    • Sir Percy Blakeney (The Scarlet Pimpernel)
    • Miss Victoria Gracen (The Obsession of Victoria Gracen)
    • Puddleglum (The Silver Chair)
    • Little Sister (Laddie)

Name your top five worst villains whom you DESPISE with your whole heart (book or movie).

    • Magua (The Last of the Mohicans)
    • Mother Gothel (Tangled)
    • Agent Smith (The Matrix)
    • Chauvelin (The Scarlet Pimpernel)
    • Randal (Monsters Inc.)

Your favorite movie costume.

I’ve always loved Susan’s archery dress and cape in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

What is your favorite movie soundtrack?

Either How to Train Your Dragon by John Powell or The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by Harry Gregson-Williams

Categories: randomness, tag | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I’ve been tagged!

  1. Lovely answers, m’dear! Magua is definitely one of THE WORST bad guys I’ve ever read about. May I come along with you on that carefree summer afternoon? 😉

    • Thanks for tagging me! I’m glad you liked the answers I came up with — some of them were hard! I would love for you to join me on that carefree summer afternoon. It would be 10 times lovelier sharing it with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

