A Wee Passion

This is Lindsey, one of my favorite Wee Folk. She stands 2.5 inches tall.

When I was little, I gravitated to the smallest toys with the most parts.  Toys like Playmobil became favorites due to their tiny stature and hundreds of tiny accessories.  My favorite part was setting up their house (or farm, or hospital, or butcher shop, or who knows what).  As I’ve grown older, that love for tininess and details has not lessened.  The enthusiasm turned from playing with tiny details to creating them.  It was then that I was introduced to Wee Folk.  I was hooked.  If I were a craft, I would be a Wee Folk.

What are Wee Folk? They are diminutive figures whose bodies are made of bent pipe cleaners wrapped with embroidery floss. Their wool felt clothing is embroidered to fill in the details and assist in bringing out their personality. Finally, they are topped with a wooden bead for a head and hair made of embroidery floss.  They range in size from a baby at 1.2 inches, to an adult at 4 inches tall.

Wee Folk are originally the creation of Salley Mavor, a magnificent artist who shares how to make Wee Folk in her wonderful instructional book Felt Wee Folk: Enchanting Projects. The book provides basic instructions as well as patterns for clothing.

With Salley Mavor’s book in hand, and your creative juice flow set on high, you can create your own original Wee Folk.  The technique is versatile enough to make nearly anything you want!  The WeeFolk featured in this post are all my own creations.  People often marvel over the detail that I put into these little people. But adding in all those details is what I love doing!

Some despairingly remark that the devil is in the details.  But it’s in the details that I often find the greatest opportunity for creativity.

Categories: Passion, Project | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Wee Passion

  1. Bravo! Bravo! I second everything you said about the wonderful world of wee folks. 🙂 Here’s to all the hours you and I have spent wrapping, stitching, and snipping felt for our own wee folks!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

