She Tagged Me!

My dear friend and fellow blogger, Victoria of Hope Writer has tagged me!  Thank you for tagging me, Victoria!  Several of your questions made me think long and hard.  Enjoy!

If you could learn a new language, what would it be?

If this is the instant, “I know kung-fu” kind of learning, I think I’d pick Chinese.  But if I actually have to learn it… maybe Spanish.  That would be pretty practical.

Which three books are your top favorites of all time?

Aie, yie, yie… let me think.  That’s really hard.  Ok, here we go.

The Reb and the Redcoats ~ Constance Savery

The Chronicles of Narnia ~ C.S. Lewis (Yes, I know it’s a series.  I can’t pick just one.)

The Keeper of the Bees ~ Gene Stratton-Porter

What is your favorite line/quote from one of those three books?

 “One word. All you’ve been saying is quite right, I shouldn’t wonder. I’m a chap who always liked to know the worst and then put the best face I can on it. So I won’t deny any of what you said. But there’s one thing more to be said, even so. Suppose we have only dreamed, or made up, all those things – trees and grass and sun and moon and stars and Aslan himself. Suppose we have. Then all I can say is that, in that case, the made-up things seem a good deal more important than the real ones. Suppose this black pit of a kingdom of yours is the only world. Well, it strikes me as a pretty poor one. And that’s a funny thing, when you come to think of it. We’re just babies making up a game, if you’re right. But four babies playing a game can make a playworld which licks your real world hollow. That’s why I’m going to stand by the play-world. I’m on Aslan’s side even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia. So, thanking you kindly for our supper, if these two gentlemen and the young lady are ready, we’re leaving your court at once and setting out in the dark to spend our lives looking for Overland. Not that our lives will be very long, I should think; but that’s a small loss if the world’s as dull a place as you say.”
Puddleglum, in The Silver Chair

Which three movies are your top favorites of all time?

My goodness, just three?  *sigh*  Well, here’s three of my favorite movies of all time. 😉

National Treasure has been a favorite for many years.  The Revolutionary war, (or, as I like to call it, the War for American Independence.  😀  ) is my favorite period in American history, so the historical aspects of the film made it even more of a winner for me.

Monsters, Inc. definitely makes the list.  It’s my favorite Pixar film, hands down.  My sister and I quote it constantly.

I grew up watching Calamity Jane.  This western musical starring Doris Day is so much fun and watching it brings back so many memories.  We have nearly all the songs memorized.

What is your favorite line from one of those movies?

What is the nationality/ies your family comes from? (i.e. Scotch, Russian, etc)

Mostly Scottish on my dad’s side, Irish and a bit of Cherokee on my mom’s.

What are some of your favorite phrases, exclamations, or sayings?

Oh… that’s a hard one.  I tend to say “Oh dear” a good bit.  Don’t know if that’s my favorite.  I love some of the British sayings.  “Jolly good” is always fun to say. 😉

Who are five of your “best friends” (favorite characters) in literature?

Uncas (Last of the Mohicans)

Little Sister (Laddie)

Reb (The Reb and the Redcoats)

Puddleglum (The Silver Chair)

Victoria Gracen (The Obsession of Victoria Gracen)

What is a movie that you love that people would probably totally not associate with your personality?

Star Trek: The Next Generation (TV show and movies).  I’m particular that it be the Next Generation.  Captain Jean-Luc Picard beats Captain James T. Kirk of the original series, hands down.  No question. 😉

Which historical figure do you look forward to visiting with the most  in heaven?

C.S. Lewis

I’d have to go with C.S. Lewis.  Because of his writings, I think we’d have a lot to talk about.

Categories: randomness, tag | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “She Tagged Me!

  1. It was great fun reading your answers to a tag sent to both of us! I apologize, but I did laugh at your comment about learning Chinese, simply because it was NOT what I was expecting! What a great and original answer! Also, I love how both “The Keeper of the Bees” and Little Sister came up in both our favorite books and characters.

    And look at us, both admitting our secret enjoyment of Sci-Fi Sagas in the second-to-last question! Alas, m’dear, we are quite hopeless–and this is Reason #1,252 why we are friends, because we can be hopeless together and never bat an eyelash 😉

    • No need to apologize! That quote was the best way I could think of to describe near-instantaneous learning. I actually never thought about it referring to something Chinese! *facepalm*
      Oh yes, thank you so much for recommending Gene Stratton-Porter’s books to me! We bought a copy of “The Keeper of the Bees” for my grandmother’s birthday. And I just loved Little Sister.
      Now I just have to make a Star Trek convert out of you. 😉 Love you dearly, my friend!

  2. Bravo, Emily! That was such a fun tag! I loved all the pictures (especially Edmund, and the National Treasure pictures with Riley!). And I felt like cheering when I read the Puddleglum quote. That one is one of my favorites ever, and it never fails to leave me with a pounding heart and arms covered in chills. I loved everything about your tag, Emily!

    By the way, C.S. Lewis is top on my list to visit with in heaven, too. 🙂 Love you!

  3. This post was a welcome laugh – thank you! ::huge smile:: Found it through CP (I’m an alum!) and look forward to reading more!

    • Thanks for your sweet comment Marli! Happy to make you smile. 😀
      So you’re another CPer? I’ve been with CP since January and am really glad that I’m doing it.
      Thanks again for commenting (and following)!

      • Yes, graduated through CP last year 🙂 If there is ever any way I can help you in your CP journey, please let me know!

        It can be an amazing, fun, experience, but it has its tough spots – persevere – it is VERY worth it at the end 🙂

      • Thank you! I’m blessed to have already made a couple friends through the forums that have made the experience so much better.
        Thanks again for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

