A Year in Pictures – Weeks One & Two

I recently bought myself a camera.  It’s a Sony a390 coupled with a Tacoma 18-200mm lens.  My mom challenged me to take (at least) a picture a day for a year.  I’ll be posting the pictures here on my blog, but also on the page, A Year in Pictures.  Though all these photographs, you’ll end up catching glimpses of my life, the things and people I love, and how my photography skills are progressing!

Below is the first two weeks of pictures.  Enjoy!

Day 01

Day 02 – our sweet cat, Gumbo

Day 03 – one of our broody bantam chickens

Day 04 – my little sister

Day 05 – back yard during hurricane Isaac

Day 06 – spider lily

Day 07 – Biology study materials

Day 08 – books packed for a trip. a thick classic, a new favorite, an old favorite, and two from the library that didn’t turn out so good.

Day 09 – canyon view in northern Alabama

Day 10 – cheese at Sweetwater Valley Farm

Day 11 – an adorable duck outside a restaurant

Day 12 – mountain barn

Day 13 – mountain river

Day 14 – early morning in the smoky mountains

Categories: Life, Photography | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A Year in Pictures – Weeks One & Two

  1. Emily, that was fantastic! I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed getting a glimpse into those two weeks. I will be positively haunting your blog now that I know you have that page of a Year of Pictures. 🙂 I am getting a camera for Christmas – you have definitely inspired me to take a picture a day with mine, as well!

    • Glad you liked it, dear. The whole picture-a-day thing can be lots of fun but I’ve had to make do on more than one occasion. Some of the pictures that will end up here will be late night and bad lighting works of desperation. 😉

  2. I loved all the pictures, Emily! 😀

    And… I happened to notice The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society in your stack of books… by any chance is that one of the books that became a “new favorite”? Either way, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

    Love in Christ,
    Cassandra

    • Glad you enjoyed them! And yes, “The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society” is my new favorite. You mentioned it in a random thoughts post and I was on the hunt for a new book. Found it at the library and loved it! I’ve got another friend ready to read it as well. Thanks for the recommendation!

      • Oh, how lovely! *grinnnn* I have recommended that book to so many people and never has anyone not liked it. So, you are very welcome.

        by the way, (and to quote Guernsey) “you write charming little notes.” 😉

  3. Heather

    What beautiful pictures, Emily! I loved them and I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. 🙂

    ~Heather

  4. Spider Lily, Mountain River, and Smoky Mountains are so pretty! God bless!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

