adventure is out there!

CP Virginia Gathering 2013

This past week, I went on a grand adventure.  It was filled with laughter, hugs, smiles, silliness, ukuleles, games, music, walking, hiking, Ultimate frisbee, skits, worshiping, praying, touring, picture-taking, and very little sleeping. 😉

The occasion?  My wonderful dad and I traveled the 1,120 miles to Virginia to meet up with some of my dearest college friends from all over the country.

Daddy&Me01

Daddy & I on the hike

Most of us had met through the student forums of the college program that we’re using to complete our bachelor’s degrees.  (Blog post on that coming soon!)  Getting to meet my brothers and sisters in Christ (and college) for the first time in person was beyond amazing.

PicMonkey Collage

To top off this amazing event, we had a professional photographer chronicling the entire week.  Shout out and huge thanks to Mr. Joe for all the amazing pictures he took (many of which are featured in this blog post).  The rest of the photos were taken by myself, my dad, Austin, and my twin Emily.

0012

a few of us on a hike next to the Potomac river

The hike along the Potomac river was one our favorite activities of the week.  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect.

DSC_0804

the lineup  🙂

Wednesday was game day at the house.  Despite high wind, we played Ultimate frisbee all morning.  After lunch, we laughed ourselves silly playing The Character Game (a new favorite!) and Party Quirks.

Ultimate Collage

 

TheCharacterGameCollage

In the evenings, we’d all pull out our instruments, song sheets, and hymnals and worship together.  Mr. Josue led us in a week long study of 1st Thessalonians.  Spending time in the Word together was such a special time.

On our last day together, we rode the metro into D.C. and toured some of the monuments, the Library of Congress, and a couple of the museums.  Then we all headed back for a Spanish and English prayer meeting/Bible study with our hosts’ church family.

SONY DSC

The Library of Congress

000302

This is the amazing family who opened their hearts and home to all us crazy college students.  Thank you Mr. Josue, Mrs. Terri, Jenn, and Joshua for a wonderful week!

memories

late nights turned into early mornings

the word which is spelt A-A-G-H, exclamation mark

finally getting to hug Cassie

riding the metro

“October, Vulcan, Psychic, Convict, Stark, Oatmeal…”

exchanging Star Trek references with Austin & Drew

setting the pace

meeting Sierra, Kaitlyn, Jenn, and my twin Emily

“I thirst”

deep spanish voices lifted in praise

bilingual Bible study

bottle caps

“She kept catching the frisbee!  It was annoying.”

exchanging contact info

interviews

text messages to keep me awake

Categories: College Plus, Life, Photography | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “adventure is out there!

  1. It looks like y’all had an absolutely wonderful time!!! I am so glad to see some glimpses of the memories y’all made during that week. Thank you so much for taking the time to put together a post about it! 😀

  2. I love this post so much, Emily, and it was just an incredible JOY to get to finally meet you in person and give you a hug. I cannot wait to do it again… what was it you were saying about a gathering at your house? 😉

    The pictures from the character game are fabulous… It looks like it was a fun game and now I’m sorry I missed it.

    Thank you again for the post. You captured the memories well.

    • Aww… thanks Cassie. I loved getting to hug you close, singing together during our worship time, and talking in the hallway late at night. 😉 And yes, I’d love to host a gathering. Just can’t figure out where to sleep everybody. 😕

      Oh yes, you missed out on the character game. It was absolutely hilarious (as I’m sure you can tell by the pictures). But I’m glad you were able to fit a visit with your grandparents into the trip.

      Love you muchly! (big hug)

  3. Sierra

    Emily, I loved this post! I think we should have organized each of our posts to be spread out over at least a week so they’d last longer! But I’m good with them all at once, too — I’ll just tuck them away in a safe spot and read them over and over and over again. 🙂 The photos from The Character Game are totally awesome and capture the “fun-ness” of the game and the personalities of those who played. 🙂 I loved meeting you, Emily, and hope to meet you again! In the meantime, we must stay in touch!

    Sierra

    • Thanks Sierra! It’s been so much fun to read everyone’s takes on the gathering. I think there’s a few more that will trickle in that you can look forward to. 😉
      Aren’t those photos great! Mr. Joe caught some really great moments. I only wish he had gotten Austin playing Spock. 😀 Thank you so much for introducing that game! Of all the games we played, I think it was my favorite.
      Yes, yes! We shall email, and comment on each other’s blogs, and PM each other, and… and… you get the idea. 😉 Now it’s time for you to get back on the forums!

  4. Hey, that looks like so much fun!!! Great pics too 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.